Skip to main content

More than 60 Professional School Students Join Honos Civicus

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Tisch College joined leaders from the various health science professional schools for an induction ceremony in Boston's Chinatown.

Students from Tufts' health sciences schools inducted into Honos Civicus in 2019

On May 14th, Tisch College's Honos Civicus society, which recognizes graduating students who excelled academically and and as civic leaders while at Tufts, welcome 62 members from the university's professional schools in the health sciences to its 2019 class. At a lunchtime reception in Chinatown, students from the Tufts University School of Medicine (TUSM), Tufts University School of Dental Medicine, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine, and Frieman School of Nutrition Science and Policy came together to celebrate their induction into Honos Civicus. These students, honored for their dedication to civic engagement and their work in communities near and far,. were chosen by selection committees at each school composed of faculty and staff leaders at each school and representatives from Tisch College. They joined more than 70 Tufts undergraduates, graduate students, and Fletcher School students who were inducted into Honos Civicus this year.

“It’s so inspiring to hear some of the amazing stories of service and leadership that exemplify what a Tufts education is all about," said Diane Ryan, Tisch College's Associate Dean of Programs and Administration, in her remarks at the ceremony. "You have made our communities stronger, healthier, and more inclusive, and for that you have our gratitude and our admiration. I hope you find inspiration in your own stories, as well as the connection you share with your fellow Honos Civicus inductees from every corner of this university. Today you join a community of over 1,000 Tufts alumni who share your commitment to making our world better.”

Here are the 2019 inductees from each school:

School of Medicine

Sherifatu Abu

Michael Antonchak

Malvika Arya

Lisa Bartucca

Amanda Bilski

Lauren Boehm

Andrew Boone

Reeves Bright

David Deckey

Jessica Evans-Wall

Lila Flavin

Emily Geldwert

Alexa Golden

Heather Hechter

Nadi Kaonga

Vicoria Kay

Betty Liu

Kaye Lu

Marc Mankarious

Scott Merrill

Mojdeh Mostafavi

Rebecca Silverman

Kaytelin Suslavich

George Tang

Edward Testa

Alexander Xu


The above inducted students graduated from the Tufts University School of Medicine's MD program. In addition, five students from TUSM's Public Health and Professional Degree Programs were inducted: Elliott Robert Hamilton, James Lee, Samanta J. Gillies, Grace Wang, and Timothy van Dover.


School of Dental Medicine

Soteji Adeuti

Nicolette Angioli

Melody Chou

Anthony Ho

Kimpreet Jammu

Grace Kim

Julia Kim

Richard Lam

Tabitha Lewis

Gabrielle Lieberman

Jacqueline Liu

Abby Manzella

Tabitha Mohammed

Nari Park

Lillian Pham

Molly Rosen

Kareema Roushdy

Paul Serrano

Anne Marie Vu

Jessica York



Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine

Cindy Cesar

Audry Helburn

Stephanie Iacovelli

Danielle Karcher

Makoto Sakamoto

Kristen Tobin


Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy

Caitlin Bailey

Nayla Bezares

Samantha J. Gillies

Rachel Hoh

Jennifer Pustz