Skip to main content

Honos Civicus Society

Launched by Tisch College in 2009, the Honos Civicus Society selects and publicly recognizes graduating students who engaged in meaningful service and leadership activities or otherwise strengthened civic life on campus and beyond during their time at Tufts. Available to undergraduates and graduates at all Tufts schools, Honos Civicus provides an opportunity to celebrate and reflect on a Tufts education's foundational commitment to social impact and to join a network of engaged alumni who share and acted on that commitment.

Honos Civicus inductees are honored during special ceremonies alongside their peers, get a certificate from the dean of their school and the dean of Tisch College, receive a pin to wear on their commencement gown, and are officially recognized during graduation. Watch the video of our virtual ceremony honoring the 2021 Honos Civicus inductees!

About the Program

Students must apply to Honos Civicus by completing a short online form. While each school's application is slightly different, all ask students to list relevant coursework and/or community activities through which they achieved social impact, and which contributed to their education and development as civic leaders. Applicants must also possess a strong academic record, as we believe successfully balancing academic/professional obligations and civic commitments is an integral part of successful community engagement.

Select below to learn more about the eligibility requirements and application processes for either undergraduate or graduate/professional school students.

For more information, email Andrea LeSaffre, Program Coordinator, at